Optic Nerve Recordings
Cart 0
David Westlake - D87 LP

David Westlake - D87 LP

£12.00 £21.99




12-Track LP compilation pressed on Clear Vinyl. With printed inner-sleeve; sleevenotes by Luke Haines.


Includes: DW’s ‘Westlake’ album from 1987; BBC session recorded with members of The Go-Betweens; two demos of unused songs.


NB: This will also be available on CD and Digital.


After C86 and two excellent Servants singles, David Westlake was looking to release The Servants’ debut album. Searching for a stable Servants line-up (Luke Haines came on board, and stayed for five years) but unable to find a committed rhythm section, he enlisted the help of two members of The Triffids and recorded the 1987 ‘Westlake’ album for Creation. Overlooked at the time, the record was later described as a minor classic. It is included here on Side One of the album, available on vinyl for the first time in 35 years. Side Two contains the excellent, previously unreleased Janice Long BBC session recorded in the summer of 1987 with members of The Go-Betweens, and demos of two otherwise unrecorded songs.



  1. The Word Around Town
  2. She Grew and She Grew
  3. Rings on Her Fingers
  4. Talk Like That
  5. Dream Come True
  6. Everlasting  



  1. Faithful to 3 Lovers (BBC Session)
  2. Everlasting (BBC Session)
  3. The Word Around Town (BBC Session)
  4. Dream Come True (BBC Session)
  5. Take Me to Your Heart (demo)
  6. Never Grow Up (demo)




Share this Product

More from this collection